What Is Halal?

Halāl (Arabicحلال‎ ḥalāl, ‘permissible’), also spelled hallal or halaal is any object or an action which is permissible to use or engage in, according to Islamic Law.  The term covers and designates not only food and drink but also all matters of daily life.

Halal is often used in reference to foods and drinks,  foods that are permissible for Muslims to eat or drink under Islamic Shariʻah (law). The criteria specifies both what foods are allowed, and how the food must be prepared. The foods addressed are mostly types of meat,  animal tissue, and preparation methods.

The Noble Quran verses relating to halal foods include:

Al-Baqarah (The Cow) | Surah 2 Verse 173
quran.com/2/173

Al-Ma’idah (The Table Spread) | Surah 5 Verse 5
quran.com/5/5

Al-Na’am (The Cattle) | Surah 6 Verse 118-119
quran.com/6/118-119

Al-Na’am (The Cattle) | Surah 6 Verse 121
quran.com/6/121